NVIDIA moving Shield TV to its GeForce Now service for some serious game streaming

^(https://www.appmarsh.com/nvidia-moving-shield-tv-its-geforce-now-service-some-serious-game-streaming)

GeForce Now allows you to play desktop games on the Android TV-based streaming console box.

NVIDIA today announced that its Shield TV will be switching over to the GeForce NOW service — basically a cloud service for gaming — that’s currently available on Macs and Windows machines, bringing desktop games to the Shield platform. It’ll let Shield owner play their personal library of games, or purchase new ones from digital stores like Steam and Uplay.

This all gets a little confusing because the previous thing on NVIDIA Shield was, erm, also called GeForce Now and was $8 a month. But now it’s the PC/Mac version of GeForce Now. Not the Shield version of GeForce Now. But the new one is also on Shield. The old one, and its monthly fee, is going away. From Shield. Now.

GeForce NOW is in a free public beta ^(https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/games/geforce-now/). NVIDIA says the Shield switchover should happen in the next week or so. You can see the full list of supported games here ^(https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/games/#library).

The more things change… Crash ain’t moving in the UK Charts

The more things change... Crash ain't moving in the UK Charts screenshot

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/pc-port-report-crash-bandicoot-n-sane-trilogy-510182.phtml) is celebrating a second week at the top of the UK Charts. And that’s “second week in 2018” at the top of the UK Charts, as the game obviously dominated the same leaderboard across the Summer of last year. Clearly the game is a licence to print money, which bodes well for Spyro Reignited later this year.

Also hitting the high notes is prehistoric management sim Jurassic World: Evolution ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-jurassic-world-evolution-508751.phtml), which made its debut at the number two position. This is a surprisingly high debut for the park builder, but it has been very quiet on the new release front. THQ Nordic’s Red Faction Guerilla: Remarstered ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-red-faction-guerrilla-re-mars-tered-510787.phtml) debuted at a so-so number 20.

Elsewhere in the charts it’s just business as usual. Ubisoft’s racing sequel The Crew 2 ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-the-crew-2-510117.phtml) remains in the big leagues, with Sony’s God of War ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-god-of-war-ps4--497165.phtml), Nintendo’s Mario Tennis Aces ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-mario-tennis-aces-509695.phtml) and Ubisoft’s doomsday shooter Far Cry 5 ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-detroit-become-human-502748.phtml) all jockeying for position. Further down the list, Blizzard’s online shooter Overwatch ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-overwatch-362250.phtml) made a return to the Top 30 at number 17, while Electronic Arts’ The Sims 4 ^(http://www.appmarsh.com/review-the-sims-4-281841.phtml) made a surprising leap from number 28 to number 16.

It will be interesting to see if The Summer of Crash is destined to continue, although it should be noted that a successful World Cup week for England in the World Cup could plant FIFA 18, once again, back on the throne.