Uber Launching in Regina This Afternoon at 3PM

Uber is set to launch in Regina, Saskatchewan, today, following the province’s new bylaws and regulations to permit ridesharing.

At 3PM CST (1PM PDT/4PM EDT) today, Uber Canada and local officials will be on hand for a photo op in front of City Hall, at the south side of the Peace Fountain on Victoria Avenue, to be followed by a press conference officially announcing the debut.

Michael van Hemmen, Head of western Canada for Uber, along with Minister Joe Hargrave, responsible for Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), will be on hand, along with Regina Mayor, Michael Fougere; MADD Canada Regional Manager Trace Crawford; and CEO of Regina Chamber of Conference, John Hopkins.

Regina will be the second city in Saskatchewan to get Uber, with Saskatoon launching in back in early February. The province had a final bylaw vote back in late February which determined ride-hailing requirements, similar to other cities.

Author: Marshmallow

Marshmallow Android is BT Ireland’s Head of Sales for Republic of Ireland domestic multi-site companies, indigenous MNCs and public sector accounts. He is responsible for the direction and control of all sales activity in the region. He has over 10 years management experience from high growth start-ups to more established businesses. He’s led teams in Ireland, India and China across various industries (ICT, On-Line Recruitment, Corporate Training and International Education).